New and Old Worlds | Coffee Monday

I debated whether I was going to put this post here or on my Fandomitis blog; however, since I thought about it and typed it over breakfast and coffee, and it involves other worlds and cultures, I decided this was the place for it.

I love books.  I.  LOVE.  Books.  Sadly, I haven’t always shown this love by actually reading them, but that’s somewhat complicated.  (I talked about it a little more here.)  This year, however, it’s coming through full force.

The story starts late last year, when I finally, for the first time ever, watched the Harry Potter movies.  (I know, I know.)  I spread them out over a few weeks, and while I did enjoy them, they still didn’t really capture my full interest.  Then, early this year, the wizarding world started creeping into the front of my mind.  I finally gave in to watching the last two movies again, followed by reading a really long wiki article about Snape.  Soon, after watching all of the movies again (this time with my full attention and obsession), I knew I had to read the books.

I read the first three books in three days, then decided I needed to pace myself.  In doing so, I still finished all seven books in two weeks.  While I’ve held onto this new obsession by watching the movies, rereading certain agonising chapters of Deathly Hallows, attending a fan event, and doing a lot of research for my fan fiction 😬, I’m still reading like it’s going out of style.

Credit: quotesgram.com

Credit: quotesgram.com

I usually set my annual reading goal to about fifteen books, though I tend to surpass it by November.  I finished my sixteenth yesterday.  This is only the beginning of the eighth week.  And I’m showing no signs of slowing down.  I love books, and I feel like I’m finally proving it.

I’ve mostly read new books, but I’ve decided to reread The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy series, since it’s been ten years since I finished it the first time.  I also plan on finally reading the Eragon series, The Heroes of Olympus series (I read the Percy Jackson series in 2014), some classics I’ve been meaning to “get around to,” and wherever else my reading adventures for the year will take me.  I’m looking forward to it.


Kuri’s 2017 Read Books

More Weird Things Customers Say in BookshopsEleanor & ParkLooking for God in Harry PotterHarry Potter and the Sorcerer's StoneFantastic Beasts and Where to Find ThemHarry Potter and the Chamber of SecretsHarry Potter and the Prisoner of AzkabanHarry Potter and the Goblet of FireHarry Potter and the Order of the PhoenixHarry Potter and the Half-Blood PrinceHarry Potter and the Deathly HallowsFirst & ThenThe Return of the NativeThe Hitchhiker's Guide to the GalaxyFrom the Earth to the MoonThe Restaurant at the End of the UniverseHarry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and TwoThe Tales of Beedle the BardEragonLTUAESLATFATFFrankensteinMerlinThe Problem with ForeverFantastic Beasts 1The FoldMostly HarmlessThe Book of Strange New ThingsQuidditch Through the AgesThe Lost HeroThe OutsidersThe Son of NeptuneThe Mark of AthenaThe Grimm LegacyDoctor Who: Time Lord Fairy TalesThe House of HadesThe Blood of OlympusThe Power of Positive ThinkingThe Last VoyageThe Rising NightThe Forever TrapPest ControlThe Nemonite InvasionDead AirThe Runaway TrainThe Ring of SteelThe Hounds of ArtemisThe Gemini ContagionThe Jade PyramidThe Eye of the JungleBlackoutThe Art of DeathDarkstar AcademyDay of the Cockroach


More of Kuri the Vegan’s 2017 books »

 

Leave a Reply

