VeganMoFo 2016 Week 3 Wrap-Up | Feat. Mini Cake

For those whose week starts on Sunday, week three of this year’s Vegan Month of Food kicked off with the prompt “Feed the Alien – An alien lands on your doorstep.  What are they going to eat?”  I settled on something that also goes with afternoon tea: a mini cake!

img_3837

This cake was actually much bigger than I’d intended, and not really traditional, but it was still so good!  For the chocolate icing, I made coconut whipped cream a bit thicker and added cocoa powder.  I should have added some stevia to sweeten it up a bit more for this, but it still worked.  I added peppermint extract to the leftover icing to use with my coffee, as I normally do.

For the cake, I actually used boxed cake mix.  I haven’t really found a chocolate cake recipe I enjoy making, and I normally use boxed brownie mix for mug cakes/brownies.  In mug brownies, I just add seltzer water and a bit of stevia powder to the mix and it comes out ooey gooey and amazing.  Since I wanted this cake to be sturdier to be able to stand up to the icing and hold itself up, I instead used oil, cashew milk, and a flax egg.  Unsweetened coconut flakes garnished the top.

It wasn’t the best tasting cake I’ve ever made, but live and learn.  From now on I’ll probably just stick to ugly mug brownies that satisfy all my chocolate and sugar cravings.  I’m sure the alien would appreciate that more. 👽

The rest of my week three posts:

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-7-51-19-pm

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-7-51-35-pm

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-7-51-49-pm

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-7-52-01-pm

screen-shot-2016-11-19-at-7-52-11-pm

One thought on “VeganMoFo 2016 Week 3 Wrap-Up | Feat. Mini Cake

Leave a Reply

