VeganMoFo 2016 Week 2 Wrap-Up | Feat. My Comfort Food

I can’t believe November is already half over.  Here’s my better-late-than-never wrap up of Vegan Month of Food week two!

The prompt for day six was “comfort food.”  Normally, when someone says these words, it’s likely that we immediately think of foods full of fat, carbs (the bread and pasta kind), and/or sugar.  While I do often turn to not-so-good-for-me snacks for comfort (cookies or tortilla chips are usually it), my favourite good-for-me comfort food is what I call “my loaded cereal.”

I got the idea for this when I first watched a Forks Over Knives-related documentary on the Engine 2 diet in early 2014.  (I think this was the one? The Engine 2 Kitchen Rescue)  Rip showed one of the families a great way to have cereal that won’t leave you hungry mid-morning.  I settled on a good base recipe for me, and have not only stuck to it in the last two years, but I still eat it all the time.

Here’s what I use:

-4 parts cereal (I switch between corn/rice chex, shredded wheat, and corn flakes)
-2 parts granola (my current favourite is the coconut chia granola by SimplyNature)
-1 part chopped dates
-cashew milk

I’ll also often leave out the milk and eat it as a snack.  In this case, I sometimes add one part chocolate chips.

Even when I go overboard and eat two or more servings in one sitting, I feel so much better than if I’d given in to eating a whole row of Oreos or almost half a “family size” bag of tortilla chips.  (Those have happened more often than I’d care to admit.)

Once again, I’ll leave you with the links to the rest of my Instagram posts from week 2:

Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 12

 


 

Do you ever mix cereals?  What do you use?  Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

