#KuriCali14 — My Post-Christmas California Holiday

Whenever I go on holiday, I like to add specific hashtags to all the pictures I post to Instagram; that way I can more easily access all the pictures from only that trip.  The following are the pictures with “#kuriCali14” — the holiday I took to Jackson, California, to visit friends.  I had so much fun, and access to a lot more vegan eateries!  I ended up not filming for vlogs at these places, as originally intended, but I made sure to post pics to Instagram!

Most of the pictures have captions that are good enough on their own, but I’ve added some extra thoughts to a few here.


Home Alone is by far my favourite Christmas film, but the plane ride to California on December 27th was the first time this season that I finally sat down to watch it.

I can't believe I'm only now watching #HomeAlone this year. #kuriChristmas14 #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

カルフォルニア!! California!! #kuriCali14 #traveller #southwestairlines

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

Woke up to the beautiful view of the #California mountains. #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

#FRESH #peanutbutter this morning! #kuriCali14 #vegan #eatclean

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

Though I'm still #exhausted, social #puzzle time with friends is always fun. #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

It is finished! #puzzle #friends #kuriCali14 #timelapse

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

The kind of communication that happens when we watch #Shakespearian films. #JossWhedon #MuchAdoAboutNothing #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

Quite a game of #BossMonster. It's like #Munchkin, but you're the monster. And now I'm exhausted. #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

Finishing our fun day at #ColdStoneCreamery. #Lemon #sorbet!! #vegan #nye #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

This Storm looks very much like #NichelleNichols. #xmen #startrek #HotTopic #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

I don't think it was planned, but I see a #dragon in my #almondmilk #latte. #coffee #ACupOfCherries #SouthLakeTahoe #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

#Art is everywhere. #SouthLakeTahoe #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

#Smiley #face #LakeTahoe #kuriCali14 #snow

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

#Panda 🐼. #snow #LakeTahoe #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

I don’t even remember what this place was called, but this vegan place in South Lake Tahoe had amazing food and beverages! I ordered three entrées, planning on filming it and taking leftovers home, but I ended up not filming and eating everything! And finished the last few bites of a friend’s cake. 😉

Got myself a #rawvegan crepe in #SouthLakeTahoe! It was very delicious! #vegan #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

There are summer #beach leg pictures, and then there's the #LakeTahoe area in #winter. #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

Sourdough has always been one of my least favourite breads, so the thought of sourdough pancakes made me a bit uneasy. I gave them a shot since a friend was making them for breakfast. These were some of the best pancakes I’ve had in my life, even without blueberries!

The #vegan plate is mine. All mine!! #sourdough #pancakes #おいしい #kuriCali14 #パンケーキ

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

I'm a halfling thief with a knife 😏. #BilboBaggins #Munchkin #BossMonster #kuriCali14 #MunchkinVsMonster

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

There's something about a #campfire. #fire #SloMo #kuriCali14 #BecauseCamping

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

Mini #flamethrower in the #campfire. #BecauseCamping #kuriCali14 #SloMo

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

I’ve had something that was shaped like a doughnut, but technically this was my first real doughnut since I went vegan 1.5 years ago. I believe this was vanilla. The two with me got Mexican mocha, and… I think something chai-related?…

Last #vegan #food stop before the airport: #donutfarm in Oakland. #DOUGHNUTS!!! 🍩😭👍 #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

#View of the #bay from #OAK. #Oakland #oaklandinternationalairport #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

I may not have seen the Golden Gate Bridge, but I still saw the Pacific Ocean for the first time!

With all the #travelling I've done, this is my first time seeing the #Pacific #Ocean. ❤️ #traveller #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

If you know me personally, you may have seen my old blog and YouTube channel.  Even if you haven’t seen those, you still know that I love doomsday movies, and 2012 is my absolute favourite.

I’m still not a big fan of animals in my house, but it’s times like this that reminds me that rescuing a dog off the streets is worth it to her.

#Puppy was definitely glad I came #home! #dog #rescue #mutt #kuriCali14

A post shared by Kuri 💒💍☕️ (@kuri_thevegan) on

Leave a Reply

